Getting over the hill!

Welcome to my first blog post!

I’ve always wanted to have a blog but could never figure out what to say. Till I started training for the Austin Half Marathon. I decided that I would want to remember what I went through as I journeyed towards one of the most grueling physical challenges I would undertake.

This post is 2 weeks after I began to run. I had my first run on Oct 23, 2010. But this post is not about that run. Its about all the thoughts in my head that led to me to that run.

I turned 30 this year. I automatically felt my body slow down. Earlier I could work out for 2 weeks at a stretch and lose weight. It was almost like clockwork that my body decided to slow down at 30. I badly wanted to do something physical, to jig things up.

We also moved this summer from the midwest to a new city. Austin with all its charms felt alien and strange. We had everything we needed and wanted and yet I felt listless, almost depressed. Something was not quite right. Life almost felt too easy and vacuous.

I’d been toying with the idea of running for a while before I actually spoke to the Asha folks and committed myself. The best analogy that I can find about how I began running is that it’s like the cute guy you’ve been wanting to ask out. I ran a few miles here and there but didn’t muster the courage to go the distance. On my first date with a long run, one beautiful Saturday morning at Rogue in Austin, I was nervous about, well, my performance. I surprised myself by running 5.5 miles on that first run. I ached all over but the high was incredible. It’s like a new love! I think about running all the time, I fantasize about it, I can’t wait till my next run and I stalk running on the web. It’s about me and yet it isn’t.

So here I am, training for what I think is the most physically challenging task I am going to put my body through. If you’re reading this, you’re taking that journey with me.

2 responses to “Getting over the hill!

    • Its really a hard earned money for a good cause. Buck up, but take care of youself. The hen must not get sick before laying golden egg.

Leave a Reply

