Thank y’all!

Since a big reason to run is to fundraise, I probably will be saying thank you (TX style) pretty often. I’m amazed at how much interest and support my blog has generated. (Although I secretly hope they will convert to $$$ as well 🙂 – here’s the link again (sheepish)). I’ve received wonderful comments, phone calls, email messages about how folks have enjoyed reading the blog. All I can say is thank you! It definitely means a lot when you know so many people are backing this herculean (to me) effort. I guess it also drives home the point that its not something most of my friends expected from me. I guess they know me well :). One friend amazed at how I was waking up at 6.45am and another commented on how I must have only now realized that that hour comes twice in a day. You bet!

All I can say is that I have no idea how I made or am making the lifestyle changes (first casualty is Friday night drinking). I really do enjoy running and that in itself seems like a diametric shift from how I felt about running and exercising as recently as a few weeks ago. If I’d had bad runs, maybe I would have quit – paid the commitment to Asha out of pocket and continued to watch back2back Law and Order SVU every night. But I didn’t. I am lucky that my first few runs have been great and I have a taste of what it feels like on the other side of the run. So the lifestyle changes seem easy because I really want to run well.

My counselor at work is what I call an elite runner. She is older than me but she looks fabulous. She told me she began to run after her sister got her hooked. After she did her first marathon she said she was completely sold. That’s what she wanted to do again and again. I remember thinking “wow, this lady is nuts”. But of course in an awestruck-I-wish-I-could-be-like-her way. Maybe all of you who read this might feel the same. And maybe one day, you will decide to take that plunge. As I said in an earlier post, the fundraising is like icing on the cake. I’m not running to raise money. I’m running because I love running (but it’s important, so keep the $$$ coming baby).

So, if you talk to people who have run a marathon or are training for one, chances are they got into it because they talked to someone who did. My buddy Vidisha ran for Asha several times, Natasha and her husband, Rajiv ran for a Chicago charity, Prutha runs for Asha regularly and I could go on (if I haven’t mentioned you, its not cos I didnt think of you but please let others know and comment!). I know Natasha ran so she could spend more time with her hubby – isn’t that adorable! But with that cute thought she did something pretty incredible methinks. The point I’m trying to make is that there is an explosion of marathon runners and more people like me, who aren’t athletic by nature, are running because its darn infectious. And also because you don’t need to buy a $300 racket to start. Only $100 shoes :). Contrary to what most people think, running is not a cheap sport. But that’s another post.

Here’s a great article that Bharath posted on facebook (I know for my benefit especially because he was echoing what this guy was saying before he changed his mind on marathons). It drives home the point that running is an extremely social phenomenon. Just like facebook. Maybe they help each other.

That’s a long post but I’ll sign off with another comment from a friend who said this is the coolest thing I’ve ever done. And it is. What’s the coolest thing you’ve done? Tell me! I want to know!

One response to “Thank y’all!

  1. Coolest thing I have done — Writing a blog myself and commenting on yours! Hailing your efforts too.Through sweat and toil u have earned the right to the title – Ms COOL.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

