The Search Rests (for now)

Alright, finally bit the bullet after hemming, hawing and evaluating finances relative to the desire to ride/race, after estimating as accurately as possible my utility function from a road bike constrained by time to ride this year and bank balance and after choosing the most appropriate Lagrangean multiplier – my constraints were binding so yes this is an optimal point – I won’t say it is a global optimum, but definitely a local optimum given the time period under reference (husband and I agreed to disagree on 3 years – I said 2 years, he said 5 years) that I will love and ride this bike with all my heart and legs, respectively.

What prompted it? Sale of course! Mellow Johnny’s had a bike sale this weekend. Which brought the entry level Trek 1.1. down to $599.99! Sandeep told me about the sale and so obviously I was noodling on the thought very excitedly. Then yesterday I got a call from Sandeep telling me the lowest price point. I’d been eyeing that entry level Trek (which is probably not as great as the entry level Felt but $130 bucks cheaper than the latter) when it was for $729 on retail. Now for most bikers, no need to get excited unless the components are amazing or whatever. But for my purposes, given that I probably ride less than 50 miles a month if that, it really didn’t make a difference. So I was definitely a price shopper. Yes I did some dynamic optimization by adding some value to future longer-distance riding but with the time discount rate applied, it still made me somewhat highly price sensitive.

Well the good thing is that when I went into MJ’s this morning, the 1.1. or entry bike wasn’t available in my size at the discounted price. So I climbed up a notch (so the components are a shade better, price differential being $230 on full retail price) and test rode the Trek Lexa S (and thus the name for the bike is going to be LexaS). I rode the 50cm and then the 52 cm. The bike felt great. To be frank I did try to compare it with the Scott I rode earlier from J&A and I couldn’t remember so I stopped trying. Also it makes a big difference when Bharath is with me than without. Even if I am 100% convinced about a big purchase, I still need him there to be the Devil’s Advocate. So he played his part, I stuck to my ground and we bought the second level entry bike for $769 (so almost equal to the 1.1. but a better bike). Both bikes at this level are not compatible with higher level components so the sales girl (Annie) did make it clear that once I bought this bike, I was stuck with it. The next price point was $1259 which I was clearly not even going to test ride (she tried to make me, lest I change my mind haha good try). That’s fine, I’ll be stuck with this bike and I will put at least 1000 miles (or 3 years, whichever later) on it before I think about buying a new one.

Well here are some crappy phone pics of the bike and yes, I do keep it indoors because it’s precious.

 

8 responses to “The Search Rests (for now)

  1. Looks Great!! And ha…physicists and economists are united by the Lagrangian multipliers to solve optimization problems 🙂

  2. Forgot to leave a name on the previous one…you probably guessed by the physics comment but its Radz in case you hadnt!

  3. Have you named your bike yet? Congrats on the purchase, time to accessorize it with bike computer etc 🙂

  4. Glad you “modeled up” (vs down). Decent bike. Tiagra rear derauiler mucho better than Sora so thats good. Women specific saddle and geometry is also a plus. Carbon fork also plus to (better) absorb all those damn vibrations when you ride roads like Parmer etc.

Leave a Reply

