Some yoga, some running!

I’ve finally given in to this yoga fad. I mean yoga. I tried it once at the UT gym before we went to London and the first class was bliss. I really felt good right after. My limbs felt stretched and back felt so good. I almost wanted to go right back in and do it again. So I went back after the London trip. I hadn’t run for 2 weeks since the race. We’d walk a lot on London but I never got the chance to go running which is a tragedy cos I could have gotten bragging rights like I did when I ran in Rio and SP. Anyway, came back and went to 2 hatha yoga classes. From my Vedanta classes, as I recall Hatha Yoga was the lesser mortal’s path to the divine. Among the four yoga paths, (Bhakti, Karma, Raja or combo), Hatha was the path of cleansing your mind through bodily endurance and eventually realizing oneness with everything. So in my mind, somehow erroneously I’d thought Hatha was self-denial and torture. Perhaps it is, I don’t know. But it didn’t occur to me then that the path to endurance has to be through some form of self-denial or self-discipline. I know that now.

So I must say I was turned off by the word Hatha Yoga in that I thought it might be difficult. Then I read the description on the UT website “This mellow form of yoga focuses on simple poses that flow from one to the other at a very comfortable pace. Participants are encouraged to go at their own pace, taking time to focus on the breathing and meditation in their practice. This yoga is ideal for winding down at the end of a tough day.” That doesn’t sound hard does it? It was actually pretty awesome. Went in on a Saturday morning after a long flight back from London the day before and boy did it help me stretch out those creaky limbs. I went back the next day and I actually felt my muscles feeling a bit sore.

Sunday I also went to run with my running buddy Sue. That was not so good. It was hot and humid and I hadn’t run since the race so I was in bad shape. We did St. Eds which is hilly and rocky too. Eventually in the last mile of the 5 miles it mercifully began to rain and cooled down so I felt better running instead of panting like a dog.

Joe sent an email last week asking if I was done after Nueces or still ‘wanted to play’. I didn’t think I was done but definitely am not thinking of another race. So I went back on Tuesday, after the t-storm. Walnut Creek was muddy as hell but I felt pretty ok running. I’m definitely building up, it feels like it.

Went to a vinyasa yoga class on Wednesday. This seemed to be a faster version of the Hatha class. So more in between a core class and yoga. What I like about yoga is the emphasis on breathing, recovering using relaxation.

B thinks its my new thang. Probably is, we’ll see. I really feel much calmer after class. Everytime I walk out of the gym, it makes me think of everything that’s good and happy. So yes, I don’t really mind this new thang. With how busy life is, stress and all, I’ll take the calm, even its only for an hour in class.

Leave a Reply

